Northern Ireland

The island of Ireland is 304 miles/486 kilometers long and 172 miles/275 kilometers wide. It is divided into four historic provinces: Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connaught. Within these four provinces are 32 counties. The Republic of Ireland consists of 26 counties, and Northern Ireland consists of six counties.

The population of the island is currently 6.7 million, with 1.8 million living in Northern Ireland and 4.9 million living in the Republic of Ireland.

Ireland has a mild, temperate climate. Snow is uncommon, but rain showers can occur at any time of the year!

Watch the video below for a beautiful aerial view of Northern Ireland. (Taken in 2017 during a JBU Cathedral Choir Tour in Belfast.)


Northern Ireland: The British Pound
Republic of Ireland: The Euro

Credit Cards

Any credit cards that bear the Visa or MasterCard symbol will be widely accepted. Visitors with other cards should ask in advance or check if that card is on display where they wish to use it. ATM (cash) machines are readily available.

Emergency & Phone Tips

For police, fire or ambulance, dial 999.

Note: If calling any other Northern Ireland number from a non-UK phone, telephone numbers must be prefixed with 011-44- (drop the first 0 if local code).

Photos from Student Outings